Cantus Ensemble
Daria Auguštan, soprano
Berislav Šipuš, conductor


Natko Devčić

Josip Prajz
Locus — first performance


Gustav Mahler — arr. Klaus Simon
Symphony No. 4 in G major
Bedächtig. Nicht eilen
In gemächlicher Bewegung. Ohne Hast
Ruhevoll (Poco adagio)
Sehr behaglich Wir geniessen die Himmlischen Freuden


For two decades, contemporary music in Croatia, that of Croatian composers, but also representatives of the international scene, has been largely alive through the activities of the Cantus Ensemble, which was founded with the aim of exploring, discovering and presenting new and hitherto unexplored spheres of New Music. Soon after the leadership of the Zagreb Music Biennale, led by Berislav Šipuš, founded the Cantus Ensemble in 2001, this ensemble found its place and became an important, if not indispensable, participant in the Croatian contemporary music scene. It is the protagonist of national festivals and various cultural events, and since 2006 it has hosted its own concert cycle. In 2008, it was the official ensemble of ISCM's World Days of New Music in Vilnius, after which the number of foreign guest appearances increased. The important position of the Cantus Ensemble within the Croatian and international context is evidenced by about 130 premieres and more than 500 opuses it has performed and about 40 performances abroad (in most European countries and in Mexico, Canada and China). The Cantus ensemble fosters cooperation with a number of prominent contemporary music ensembles, and has also participated in international projects with the support of the EU Cultural Council: Re:New Music and New Music: New Audiences.

The ensemble for the Osor concert: Eva Mach, violin I; Matej Mijalić, violin II; Tvrtko Pavlin, viola; Jasen Chelfi, cello; Nikša Bobetko, double bass; Ana Batinica, flute; Iva Ledenko, oboe; Danijel Martinović, clarinet; Žarko Perišić, bassoon; Bank of Harkay, corner; Vedran Kocelj, trumpet; Mario Šincek, trombone; Mirjana Krišković, harp; Srebrenka Poljak, piano; Katarina Nera Biondić, synth; Marko Mihajlović and Renato Palatinuš, percussion.

Tickets available at Entrio.hr.