18. 7.


Festival Cello Octet
Monika Leskovar, cello
Darija Auguštan, soprano


Josef Gabriel Rheinberger (obr. Valter Dešpalj)
(in memory of Walter Despalj)

Heitor Villa-Lobos
Bachianas Brasileiras No. 5, for soprano and eight cellos
Ária, Cantilena
Dança( Martelo)

Lucky Brady
New work - order OGV

Giovanni Sollima

Dubravko Palanović
Your soul is silent and speaks, for soprano and octet cello on verses by Josip Pupačić - commission EDG

Heitor Villa-Lobos
Bachianas Brasileiras no. 1

Introodução (Embolada)
Prelúdio( Modinha)
Fugue (Conversa)


"This program is conceived as a whole, but also as a tribute to our great cello school, as well as the legacy of the famous professor Valter Dešpalj. The concept of the program is that with the cello ensemble we try to show all the possibilities of the sound spectrum that can produce eight cellos in the most diverse musical content. The history of playing in the cello ensemble began with the advent of the cello as an instrument. In 1689, Domenico Gabrielli wrote the first composition for two cellos. Through the periods of Baroque, classical and Romanticism great cello virtuosos such as Luigi Boccherini, Julius Klengel and David Popper wrote for that band. Thus, the program includes two premieres written for the Festival in Osor, Srećko Bradić and Dubravko Palanović, as well as classical works that will highlight all the splendor of our instrument. I am happy that I was able to be joined in this project by selected cello colleagues, each of whom distinguished themselves with talent and professional trajectory, and agreed with me to create this unique evening. It is also my great pleasure that the brilliant soprano Darija Auguštan will join us and perform the composition of D. Palanović and the composition Bachianas Brasileiras no. 5 heitor Villa-Lobos."

Monika Leskovar

The cello octet consists of Monika Leskovar, Hannah Eichberg, Karmen Pečar, Alja Mandić, Smiljan Mrčela, Jasen Chelfi, Eldar Saparayev and Gal Faganel.